You control your feelings

Posted: July 18, 2010 by Marya in Marya's thoughts
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

In a world wherein we so often make comments like “He made me angry,” or “I can’t help it,” or “She makes me feel so ugly,” it’s easy to forget that the responsibility for our feelings lies within us.

No one – and no thing – can make you feel a certain way without your permission. Of course, many of us grant that permission unconsciously, as we’ve been conditioned to believe that outside forces control our emotions.

Today, I’m reminding myself that I am in charge of my feelings. I control my thoughts, and my feelings flow from my thoughts. A feeling is a reaction to a thought – and thus, feelings can be controlled by manipulating the thoughts that precede them.

This world can be a heaven or a hell. When I think differently, I’m always amazed at the changes that I see in the world – and in my life. Thinking differently means cultivating motivating from within, not needing approval from others, practicing self acceptance, embracing the unknown, eliminating blame, not worrying, living spontaneously, giving and receiving love, and so forth.

Thinking differently means looking at people, circumstances and situations in a new light. There are a million examples. In the comments below, share a new perspective on something in your life. I’ll kick things off with the first comment.

Comments
  1. Marya says:

    Its hard to do but you definitely control your own thoughts and the way you relate to actions…….I know its a hard concept to swallow but once you get this…freedom is yours!!!

  2. Short Poems says:

    Enjoyed your post. “I am in charge of my feelings.” loved it 🙂

  3. […] You control your feelings « Just Marya Now […]

  4. JamieDedes says:

    Excellent post, Marya. I couldn’t agree more. You’ve made a wide decision. Me too!
    http://musingbymoonlight.com/2010/07/14/mind-chattered/

    Good luck!

  5. […] Y&#959&#965 control &#1091&#959&#965r feelings « J&#965&#1109t Marya Now […]

  6. […] You control your feelings « Just Marya Now […]

Leave a Reply

