A Hummingbird Spoke To Me One Day

Posted: July 20, 2010 by Marya in Poems
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Years ago, one summer
I came upon a little hummingbird,
no bigger than my thumb.
As it fluttered about a flower
in search of sweet nectar,
I stood, frozen in time, and
was mesmerized by its grace.
I’m not sure why,
or what compelled me,
but I ran inside
to get my brother’s BB gun.
As I raced back to my prey,
I did not think
of my actions, or
of consequences, or
regret.
But only of the thought,
“I wonder if I can get it with one shot?”
At that moment, it turned to me
as if to say,
“What a beautiful creature.
so full of life, and
love, and
compassion.
It is a wonderful day to be
alive!”
But I did not listen.
Instead, intent on my mission,
I aimed, and
pulled the trigger.
And in one thoughtless moment,
a tiny lifeless body lay before
me.

I am now thirty- seven years old.
And since that summer of my youth,
A thousand memories and regrets
I have.
And one that haunts me still
is a small one.

If only . . . I had listened with my heart.

A poem I read and wanted to share eh..

Comments
  1. A Hummingbird Spoke To Me One Day…

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

