Time to let go

Posted: December 24, 2010 by Marya in Poems
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

How do you walk away from someone you love
And take the road of friend;
Can you reroute the course you have taken
And start over once again?

I don’t really want to let you go
But inside me I know I must;
The times we’ve loved . . . the times have left
My heart says stay . . . but it’s my mind I must trust.

We have shared so much together
Laughter . . . fun times . . . tears;
Yet sometimes we can’t turn back time
We must walk away, and allow ourselves to heal.

I know one day you will be happy
And your soulmate you will find;
I know we each have one out there
Even if for now . . . only in our minds.

May life be gentle with you
May life’s best come your way;
And on some quiet tomorrow
You will realize things were better this way.

Comments
  1. Shanel Rutz says:

    There are times that i dont read more than two lines but i think you have a unique blog. Cheers !

  2. I adore the comments on this site, it definitely gives it that community feel!

  3. This is really perfect. It’s a nice build up with a very nice ending. It reminds me of “I cant make you love me” sung by Bonnie Raitt. It’s an interesting twist on the theme too because the speaker is the one initiating the break, yet still suffering through the agony that it will bring. Typically the statement is from the one who is powerless to prevent it. Anyways, for my tastes, this is just about perfect.

Leave a Reply

